The Cinegy Archive database content is displayed as an explorer tree in the "Nodes" dialog:

24_DBM_nodes_permissions

Here nodes management is performed, including configuration of the access type to separate nodes, deletion of nodes marked as deleted, etc.

There are 3 tabs in the "Nodes" dialog: "Permissions", "Properties", and "Actions".

Show Deleted Nodes

The "Show deleted nodes" function is useful to see all removed nodes. If a user deletes a folder, the node will disappear from the Cinegy Archive explorer. But the database administrator still has to approve, what the user has done.

24_DBM_nodes_permissions_delete

Show Total

The "Show total" checkbox gives you an overview of all folders and objects in the Cinegy Archive database. For example, the "Morning news" folder on the picture below has the number "4" in square brackets. "4" is the number of children; in this case, "Business", "World", "Sport" and "Health". The "G8 Diplomacy" Roll has number [4]; this means that you will find 4 clips in it.

24_DBM_nodes_permissions_total
Note
Press the "Refresh" button to see the latest status in your Cinegy Archive database.

Roles and Access

The "Nodes" dialog allows you to assign access rights to folders in the Cinegy Archive database.

The general procedure is:

  1. Create your user groups in Active Directory. For example:

    • Cinegy administrators

    • ingest operators

    • sports

    • news

    • librarians

  2. Create roles for user groups you want to manage. Assign roles to the groups.

    Note
    The access rights are merged if the user has different roles.
    Important
    Refer to the Permissions and Security article for details on user roles management.
  3. Assign access rights to the roles.

Note
You have to restart the respective client for all user rights changes to take place. You can create dedicated roles for the rights management, separating those from the feature-access roles.

Permissions

Under "Permissions" you can change access rights for every role.

24_DBM_nodes_permissions_permissions

Select the role and assign its access right by choosing the desired option from the drop-down list:

  • Modify – user has full access to the node;

  • View only – a node is marked with a blue lock. It can be copied, but not changed;

  • None – user does not see and cannot modify the node.

Select the "For all descendants" checkbox to apply the specified rights to all subnodes.

Access rights modification is indicated with a flag in the "Modified" checkbox until it is saved or dismissed.

Note
If the rights are not explicitly specified, they are inherited from the parent object.

Nodes Access Rights Correlation

Note
Please note, the "public" role is major. Access rights assigned to this role have direct impact on permissions assignment for all other roles.

Since "Modify" is of the highest priority, then if you assign it to the "public" role, the "View only" and "None" permission options will be disabled for other roles:

nodes_explorer_permissions_modify

If "View only" is specified for the "public" role, then for other roles the same permission and/or "Modify" can be specified, but not "None":

nodes_explorer_permissions_view only

If "None" is specified for the "public" role, then for other roles you can specify any access rights:

nodes_explorer_permissions_none

Press the nodes_explorer_permissions_save buttonbutton to save your access rights modifications.

Properties

Go to the "Properties" tab to see detailed information on the selected object.

24_DBM_nodes_permissions_properties

Each object has the following properties:

  • Name – the name of the object;

  • Type – the type of the object;

  • Created – shows the date and time of creation;

  • By – shows the user who has created the selected object;

  • Modified – shows the date and time of the latest modification;

  • By – shows the user who has modified the selected object;

  • Locked by – shows the user who has locked the selected object, if any;

  • Children total – the number of children;

  • Deleted – the number of deleted objects;

  • ID – the internal unique identifier.

The "read only" flag indicates the read-only status for the currently selected object.

Actions

On the "Actions" tab, you can perform several actions such as unlocking or deleting the selected node.

24_DBM_nodes_permissions_actions

Command Action

Unlock node(s)

This function will unlock the node if it is locked when any action should be performed with it. Enable the "include all the locked descendants" option to unlock all subnodes.

Clear Read-Only flag

This function will remove the read-only status for the selected node.

Caution
Be careful when performing this operation as it may lead to unwanted editing of the node without the read-only status.

Delete node(s)

This function will delete a selected node. Enable the "all descendants only" option to delete the subnodes only.

Restore deleted node(s)

This function will restore a deleted node. Enable the "include all the deleted descendants" option to restore all deleted subnodes.

Purge deleted node(s)

If you are sure that a node is obsolete, press the "Purge deleted node(s)" button to delete the node permanently. Enable the "all the deleted descendants only" option to delete all subnodes permanently.

Caution
If you purge a deleted node, please be sure that you really want to do this. This action cannot be undone!

Query security context

This function will generate a report for a selected object that shows the security parameters for AD users and AD user groups.

Convert Sequences

This function will convert Sequences without master audio tracks (prepared in Cinegy Desktop 9.5.5 and earlier) into the new format supporting new audio tracks mapping.

A sample of the security context report is shown below:

Security context report

Sequences Conversion

Sequences of old types can be converted into the new format according to the selected conversion schema. This operation is pre-configured and performed manually.

convert sequences_button

Press the "Convert Sequences" button; the following dialog appears:

nodes_actions_convert sequences

Here choose the Sequence conversion mode by selecting the desired option from the corresponding drop-down list:

  • Mix-down to the single stereo output – all audio tracks from the initial Sequence will be mixed down into one stereo output track in the converted Sequence:

    compatibility_1
  • Mix-down to two stereo outputs – all audio tracks from the initial Sequence will be mixed down into two stereo output tracks in the converted Sequence: compatibility_2

  • One-to-one mapping to 4 stereo outputs – all stereo tracks from the original Sequence will be mapped into 4 output stereo tracks in the converted Sequence correspondingly: compatibility_3

Select the "Include subfolders" checkbox to apply the conversion from a parent node to its child nodes including only Sequences.

Narrow the Sequences range to be processed by choosing the corresponding "Process" pattern:

  • All – all Sequences from the selected folder will be converted into the new format;

  • First – a number of first Sequences from the selected folder will be processed. Enter the desired number in the corresponding field via the keyboard or use the buttons;

  • Selected – only selected Sequences in the selected folder will be processed.

You can also define the application behavior while converting Sequences on error occurrence:

  • Stop – the Sequences conversion will stop immediately if an error occurs;

  • Stop after – the Sequences conversion will stop after a number of errors (defined in the corresponding field) occur;

  • Continue – the Sequences conversion will continue skipping the errors, if any.

save_log_button

Use the "Save log" button to generate the text log file containing the details about the Sequences conversion process.

convert_button

Having defined all the parameters, press the "Convert" button to start converting Sequences to the new format.